Founded 1888 - Running for 134 years


Club Presentation Evening March 19th 2022

On Friday 19th March the club held its annual presentation evening at Lockwood Park Rugby club, Huddersfield. Prizes were given in various categories for athletes who had been nominated over the last year. We had the Waterloo suite overlooking the Rugby ground; there were awards for Athletes; quizzes with prizes; food provided and music. Everyone seemed to have a good time.

Thanks to all who arranged it, especially to Ian Mitchell (for ensuring the trophies were polished, engraved and ready to announce the winners); to Steve Clark who booked the venue and organised the entertainment and of course, everyone who came and made it a great success. Not forgetting Rachel Schole's and Eddie Berry's quizzes!

The Committee always try to nominate athletes and helpers who not only show promise but also commitment to the club and the sport over a period of time. It is always difficult to choose, as there are so many great athletes with some real talent coming through. We also have a really supportive group of parents and helpers who have had a big impact at the club and are a key part of what we do. Without them we would struggle to keep the club going

You really mustn't be disappointed if you were not one of the trophy winners this time, you are still a really valuable part of our club, and there is always next time... the awards are given to inspire you to even greater things in the coming year!

Some pictures of award winners and others images are given below. Others will appear on Facebook and HEJA


Summary of winners:

Most promising young athlete (Female) Alice Kaye
Most promising young athlete (Male) Daniel Atkins
Most promising young athlete Cross Country (Female) Harriet Ayres
Most promising young athlete Cross Country (Male) Andrei Chetty
Outstanding contribution to Young Athletes League Not awarded (COVID)
Junior Athlete of the year (Richard Hardcastle Trophy) - Female Lucy Fairburn
Junior Athlete of the year (Richard Hardcastle Trophy) - Male Alex Whitehead
Best veteran performance Debbie Carson
Best Marathon performance Nicole Worsley
Best field event performance Chris Sampson
Senior athlete of the year (Female) Helen Roby
Senior athlete of the year (Male) Phil Mitchell
Senior Cross Country champion (Male) Simon Crook
Outstanding contribution to the club Tom Reed


Website by Tom Reed